Formerly Farkin.net - News | Forums | PotD
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with XT rear derailleur please

n. A place where something is or could be located; a site.

Default Help with XT rear derailleur please

Edit: Problem Solvered

but there's pretty pictures to look at still

So I'm a noob at maintenance. I have a XT shadow long-cage.

I slipped off a 6" high rock and landed straight on my rear derailleur. Now it skips regularly, about 4 times per chain revolution. It was working perfectly before it argued with the rock.

I adjusted the H and L screws, because I initially thought that'd be out of whack, but it SHIFTS fine, but still skips. The skipping is equally bad in any gear.

It skips on the pulley wheel indicated in this pic, but not the other. It consequently skips on the sprocket. Yes I know it needs a clean.

The B-tension screw is not touching the mech no matter what sprocket I'm on. When I spin the pedals and 'adjust' the b-tension with my hand it doesn't get any better.

What concerns me is that the cage itself doesn't seem to be straight compared to the angle of the chain on the sprocket. In this pic you'll see it's not 100% straight. Actually, the pic doesn't do it justice. It's 'un-straighter' than it shows.

Should it be absolutely, 100% straight? If it should, I fear I bent the derailleur hanger, which I don't have the tool to fix (unless I do the ghetto shifter jobbie on it).

Those sexy plastic things with reflectors are due to me being 'between pedals' (i.e. I was really clever and sold my old ones before I got new ones. Why? I have no idea). Shut up :p

Help anyone?

Thanks in advance,

Geoff
    Last edited by axertes; 11-02-2008 at 03:08 AM.

The H and L screws are limit screws - they simply set the upper and lower limits that the derailleur can shift to. If the gears are skipping, they're NOT the cause - once they're set they should never need to be touched again.