The Mont24 Hr - 2011, Mt Kowan

mtb5150

Likes Dirt
My first race was the Scott 24 2010. This was my 2nd go. Although I would be considered a reasonable newy.....I found Stromlo much more challenging on a technical side as well as the first 15-20 min climb. .......
I am a beginner to MTB that has really been inspired to do more "endurance" events (currently just riding WSMTB club rounds) and I am tryin gto get a handle on how hard these climbs are. I have ridden Stromlo once (loop 2) and the main initial climb I remember as something like Emu Switchbacks (?). Is that the climb at Stromlo we are all talking about?

If so that is the only climb I think I have ever ridden with a smile on my face. It was a really interesting and enjoyable climb.

FR Drew

Not a custom title.
I'll put my 2c in on the course itself. While it was a good track, the climbing was way harder than last years Mont, without a doubt. The first 3km and the 1.5km after the "3k's to go" sign were utter bastards.

Yes, I weigh 20 kilos more than I probably should, yes, I was on a rigid singlespeed, these are self inflicted, but I was pretty much the same last year.

I loved it, don't get me wrong, but those two mongrel climbs were certainly unpleasant for me.

hipdos

Likes Bikes
Re: the issue of rider/runner swaps; I think it's very important that action is taken where possible. The basics of 'your action leads to this consequence' is what we try and teach our kids every day and live our lives by. If these teams have decided to cheat and then planned and executed on that intent then they need to live with the consequences. Otherwise it sends a strong message that you can get away with this and in fact you probably need to do this to be competative next year.