The Photo Snob Thread

wombat

Lives in a hole
Yeah yeah, more product shots (and yeah yeah, another guitar):
Halo_stair1.jpg

Dunno if this one will be used either, I've got a brighter model in the same scene, but I'm struggling to get that one right at the moment.

Edit: goddamnit, the blacks look smashed when I see that in the browser, what is FF doing to me?

downhillar

Likes Dirt
Can anyone share their opinion on the Nikon D5100?

I'm currently looking at getting one - 50% used for photography and 50% for video.
I'm an avid amateur videographer (is that a word??) at the moment and am keen to upgrade to something with manual focus among other things.

From what I've read on the net they're a good camera for aspiring amateurs, and is almost identical to the Canon 600D.
From the reviews I've read I think I slightly prefer the images that come out of the canon but a lot of these reviews seem totally biased towards the canon (i.e. the Nikon shots are way out of focus).

The one reason I'm leaning towards the Nikon is that a mate of mine has a Nikon and our plan was that we could buy different lenses and share them with each other.

Anyway, does anyone have any input on this? I'd love to hear it :)

TWChikn

Likes Dirt
Sorry bro, no idea one the D5100 other than that I hae a D40 and it goes/went extremely well for an ammy cammy (points for trying?).

On that point, at roughly what actuation range will a camera/shutter die? Does quality start to diminish as it's life progresses?

I downloaded Opanda IExif 2.3 and tested it with a shot which said that the camera has had 17080 shutter releases. How accurate is this? Seems a little low for the time that I'e had the camera.
Is this getting too high? Will quality start dropping (not that it could drop too much further, gahh)?

I really don't hae any idea, maybe one of you super technical ones will know. Ango?

AngoXC

Wheel size expert