Shimming/lathing dropper post for odd sized tube.

moorey

call me Mia
I think i know the answer to this, but here goes anyway. I want to put a dropper post on my bottlerocket. Seat tube is 30.0, which is a silly fuck off size, but shit happens.
Thinking the best option is to shim out a 27.2. Something like a KS Supernatural 272.
Happy with KS gear. Running a i950, but they only do larger diameter in that model.
OR....incase my research missed it, does anyong do a dropper in 30.0? Black Mamba Rapid Adjust is out there possibly, but not convinced about that one.
OR OR....a mate suggested lathing down a 30.9 (only 0.45mm shaved off each side), but on a bike I want to use for FR, AM and a bit of DH, its not an area I think I want to weaken, even if the seat would only really be sat on when pedalling. (tempting notion, i have to admit.....im no engineer, but .45mm......hmmmmmm)

Last edited:

moorey

call me Mia
:insert chirping crickets:

I'm going to try out the WRONG (but more interesting) option, of lathing down an old spare 30.9 to 30.0, and ride it around for a while and see how it goes. If its, say 300mm long, I'll lathe down about 200mm of it, leaving top 100mm of unlathed post sitting out of the seat tube, factoring in that if I get a dropper post with 4-5" raise, that will get me up to a pedallable height.
Meh...whats the WORST that could happen.....? ;)

ajay

^Once punched Jeff Kennett. Don't pick an e-fight
It's hard to know without testing if it will fail, .9mm off the O.D doesn't sound like heaps but it could be 20% of the wall thickness... Also, I'm not sure what coating is on the post ( straight annodising?) and how interacts with the frame material. When you turn it down, taking half a mm doesn't allow for a lot of cutting, so you'd want to use some wet and dry to get a decent finish... Also, aluminium is rank shit to machine... Give it a crack though!

Dales Cannon

lightbrain about 4pm
Staff member