Wheel build advice

brisneyland

Likes Dirt
Hey kids,
Want to re-build the wheels on my 29er.

Current wheels are Lefty front hub/DT 340 rear, unknown spokes, Stans Flow hubs.

I want a lighter wheel set, so Crest rims are on the cards. Would like a lighter, SS specific rear hub but there aren't many affordable options out there. Not much weight to be saved on the front hub.

Unsure how to proceed with spokes - Revolutions are pretty light, CXrays are supposed to be pretty strong, but they're pricey. What do you guys think?

Also, cross-pattern? Currently laced 2-cross I think.

I've never built a set of wheels before so it will be interesting. Just ordered that Park tension gauge and need a stand too - recommendations?

mongoosemichael

Likes Dirt
As for the advice on the wheel build I can't really help you as I get mine built for me by the local bike shop. It's a stan's ZTR arch rim with a hope pro 2 evo rear hub. It works well and im wrapped because I got it done at a very low cost by talking mongoose into a waranty upgrade. As for the work stand I bought a volcan work stand and it works a treat.

Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk 4

brisneyland

Likes Dirt
As for the advice on the wheel build I can't really help you as I get mine built for me by the local bike shop. It's a stan's ZTR arch rim with a hope pro 2 evo rear hub. It works well and im wrapped because I got it done at a very low cost by talking mongoose into a waranty upgrade. As for the work stand I bought a volcan work stand and it works a treat.
Thanks mate, actually meant a wheel building/truing stand though. I might just do it on the bike.

Pretty much decided on the DT revo spokes now, can't justify CXrays - it seems that revo's should be strong enough if built 32 spoke/3 cross.

Another question for experienced wheel building folk - I used the spoke length calculator on prowheelbuilder.com - can I rely on the spoke lengths? Am I going to end up with a bunch of redundant spokes?!