The Single Speed Thread

nexusfish

El Mariachi
Before (horribly cluttered) and after (elegantly simplistic) my new single speed rig, 2013 Niner air 9 alloy. Used to ride SS all the time back in the day on a 26inch kona unit as a training aid to toughen me up and mostly cause I was a peasant uni student. This thing blows that old beast away. Sitting at 8.7kg with one more tube to remove.

Attachments

Tracti

Squid
Hey guys looking for a good 29er single speed frame, nothing to crazy expensive and possibly with the potential to go geared. Going to be going rigid fork to start. Any help would be great.

Snockers

Likes Bikes
Hey guys looking for a good 29er single speed frame, nothing to crazy expensive and possibly with the potential to go geared. Going to be going rigid fork to start. Any help would be great.
Hey Tracti, what size are you after? I've got a Large (20") 2014 Surly Karate Monkey I've been thinking about updating/upgrading for a while, if that sounds like it'd suit you.

GeurieMTB

Likes Dirt
Hey guys, Im looking for a steel SS and struggling to find one, there are some in the US (like the State Pulsar) and the UK (Charge Cooker), but nothing seems to be available in Oz. Id rather buy local and give at least some semblance of support to the local industry

Any suggestions?

notime

Likes Dirt
SCV brings in the Surley Karate Monkey so most shops can get one of those in, they also do the Salsa Timberjack which is Alloy though. Not much else to my knowledge. I'm liking the PACE bikes steel single speeds but again no AUS distro http://www.pacecycles.com/rc529-bike-page. You could go custom, Fikas in Canberra for the full local.

boyracer

Likes Dirt
Hey guys, Im looking for a steel SS and struggling to find one, there are some in the US (like the State Pulsar) and the UK (Charge Cooker), but nothing seems to be available in Oz. Id rather buy local and give at least some semblance of support to the local industry

Any suggestions?