Squirmy Tyres

Likes Bikes
Hi all

Still quite new to this MTB thing. Bought a 2nd hand Trek x-caliber 9 2019 a few weeks ago with stock tubeless rims and tyres. The tyres were a bit worn so I treated myself to some new ones - Minon DHF on the front and Aggressor on the rear.

So, replaced the tyres over the weekend and went for a ride this afternoon - part road, part gravel single track.

I’ve now got very unsettling squirm in both tyres - rear being worse than the front. Going around a gentle corner feels like i’m doing a 2-wheel drift.

Is this just a symptom of new tyres or have I done something wrong?

This is my first time with tubeless and I’m an MTB noob so quite possibly I’ve screwed something up.

Pressures are around 35 psi (I’ll need to double check tho).

Thanks in advance.

Likes Bikes
Best I can make out is the rims are 29mm. No size marked on the rims - just “Bontrager Kovee TLR”.

Old tyres were 2.2” and new 2.3”. Wouldn’t have thought an extra 0.1” would make any noticeable difference.

Kerplunk

Likes Bikes and Dirt
If your using a road track pump they don’t read very accurately at lower psi. My specialized pump was showing 30psi and when I put a topeak digital guage it read 15psi.. Tyre squirmed like crap as well..

T-Rex

Template denier
Glad to see you got a MTB at last!

Two things to check:

1. Verify the accuracy of your tyre pressure guage. Under inflated tyres are squirmy.

2. Technique. You need to weight the front tyre of a MTB to get it to bite, much more so than a road bike. The harder you lean on it the more it grips. If you are leaning back with your arms straight it’s going to drift over the surface rather than grip it.

Chriso_29er

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Sorry never ridden your specific tyres but do have similar Maxxis HR's.