Advice: 4X

powley

Clever... and hetrosexual!
maybe by riding on a 4X track?

what do you mean, to get competitive and find how to enter races or do you want to learn the fundamentals of 4X???

powley

Clever... and hetrosexual!
I'm not an expert, but you need to work on 'pumping' and jumping and pedaling in the right spots.

get good at bunny hopping and getting your front wheel over things

try to become confident with jumping

get your fitness up and practice getting in the right gear and using the most of your legs

watch a few pumping videos, its much easier monkey see monkey do with this part.

edit: What the hell am I doing in the girls only section?

Last edited:

Burrito_Boy

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Where bouts in brissy are you? There's a fair few bmx clubs that do the 4x thing too. There's a pretty big mtb turn out at pine rivers club on the north side. The bmx track is a great place to get good at starts, build up some power and generally just work on skills.

wsmtbdhvp

NSWMTB, Western Sydney MTB
Advice 4X

Sorry to post in the girls only sectin but the Advice 4X caught my eye, and after reading this is what NSWMTB is trying to do with its current series.

So, Dual Slalom is a good start, it has the start gate which you learn to handle fairly easy, no need to track stand at first the old DS rules said one foot on the ground at start which I still use. Two riders down a slope no burms just flat track around poles or cones.

You can start in DS and then start practicing 4X, first just roll the 4X track, just to get enough speed to get over the jumps but not to launch off them. You will have lower your seat as much as possible no sitting down in DS or 4X, the seat only gets in the way and if too high propels you over the bars. Move the body weight back behind the seat as much as possible on the up ramp of the jump back is always good, body weight forward of seat is bad.