Avid Juicy 5's

Dagget

Squid
Hey all ....

I'm a bit new to this so be gentle ...

I have a Stumpjumper with Avid Juicy 5's and a bit worried that something is not quite right ...

The rear makes a godawful noise when applied , which I've found out can be reduced a fair bit by installing organic pads .
No worries ...

The front however is very quiet on metallics , but is way over powered in my opinion.
1 finger gentle squeeze wheel locks ...
There doesnt seem to be a feather point, its just on or off ...

Will organics help this too, of is there a way to adjust this so that they are a bit more " gentle " ?

Cheers

outtacontrol

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I don't have Avid's but the general rule for pads is that organic pads will be quieter and have better modulation (more range of power), but will wear quicker than sintered pads, especially muddy conditions.

Sintered pads are louder and provide a stronger feel.

SideFX

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Hey all ....

I'm a bit new to this so be gentle ...

I have a Stumpjumper with Avid Juicy 5's and a bit worried that something is not quite right ...

The rear makes a godawful noise when applied , which I've found out can be reduced a fair bit by installing organic pads .
No worries ...

The front however is very quiet on metallics , but is way over powered in my opinion.
1 finger gentle squeeze wheel locks ...
There doesnt seem to be a feather point, its just on or off ...

Will organics help this too, of is there a way to adjust this so that they are a bit more " gentle " ?

Cheers
Have you bleed the rear . Howling brakes are from two thing . 1 is a bad bleed .

mhuth1

Likes Dirt
you also might have gotten something on your pads or rotor, causing the brake to be contaminated. That might be why it wont lock up and gives u a more modulated feel.

AngoXC

Wheel size expert