Bloody axle standards... for Lapierre

Mywifesirrational

I however am very normal. Trust me.
Did a search on here, google and will probably need the psychic hotline as the Lapierre website is shit for basic informantion.

I didn't realise there is a number of different axle standards for 142x12.

Just bought a Lapierre X-flow 912 (because 26 is where the funs at), it didn't come with an axle, which I figured would not be a problem as I have a few lying around.

But (nothing wrong with starting a sentence with a conjunction), after trying a maxle and syntace / DT X12 off other bikes neither fits, thread / diameter is a wee bit too wide.

As far as I can make out it uses a shimano E-thru axle?

onlock

Likes Bikes
Possibly similar to giants? My 14 trance has a 142x12 rear but uses a 9mm axel? I dunno im new to this but would of thought the 142x12 would just use a 12mm axel. Can take pics if needed

mitchy_

Llama calmer
not exactly much help, but according to this the Shimano axle is M12x1.5
http://www.extralite.com/Products/Black Lock.htm

if you're able to source a bolt of the same pitch, you can at least confirm that will do the job before blowing a small fortune on what bike axles seem to cost. (it happens to be a common car wheel stud size...)

takai

Eats Squid
MWI, cant remember where you are in Melbs, but if you are in the South East then i have a Shimano E-thru i wont be using for a while.

acads

Likes Dirt
Possibly similar to giants? My 14 trance has a 142x12 rear but uses a 9mm axel? I dunno im new to this but would of thought the 142x12 would just use a 12mm axel. Can take pics if needed
onlock , Giant trance and anthem ( 2014/15 27.5 mdl) frames are able to run two different axle sizes due to replaceable inserts . 135x9 is the default size for the alloy bikes and 142x12 for the carbon models, that 12mm is axle is proprietary to Giant because they can be painful when they want to be .

OP , sorry for the offtopic.

The Duckmeister

Has a juicy midrange