CAD

Adi

It's my birthday!
What do I say? Looks killa!

Call me stupid... but I can't see anything wrong with the seatstays :lol:

Sweet frame.. you should give it a name ;)

stinkybastard

Likes Bikes
According to Tys post your an Industrial designer, are you still studying ID or have you finished (QUT ID or elsewhere). Im a Industrial designer currently working in Bris. Thats why Im intereseted about which CAD package your using.

adam

Likes Dirt
yeah, i wanna know what one youve got too. I can get AutoCAD 2000 but i really want to get solid works. Ive got a few frames i want to plot up.

Adam

stinkybastard

Likes Bikes
I use solid works nearly everyday at work. It would be a great package for frame design (its good at doing solids and extrusions with varying profiles ie.: easton rad style tubing, the surfacing side is limited but getting better). Solid works also allows for live linkages, you could deisgn a full suspension from and then easily see how it will react, change some dimensions and see the difference. New version alos allow you to restrict movements due to applied force , (ie spring rates etc). There are heaps of decent CAD packages out there, many can be obtained as trial or educational type copy for free, each package does differnet thing better ( or worse). I use solid works as it allows parametric control ( change one part in an assembly and other parts related to it will all update automatically). This package also allows 3D parts to be exported dirrectly to formats that alow production using CNC etc, good for bike parts.

Brett

Likes Dirt
I'm in 3rd year industrial design at QUT. it's AutoCad 2000 and took 5 hours to model. I've used solidworks 2000 and it goes pretty sweet but i don't have access to it any more. I've got a copy of rhino so i might come up with some better looking stuff in the holidays. ah yeah mountain cycles does all their design work with solidworks.

Gutty

Likes Bikes and Dirt