clipless pedals

shineslike

Likes Bikes
hey girls,

sorry if this is something that's been asked before, but i was wondering what you all use for pedals - clipless, or just normal pedals? i am pretty new to mountain biking - started riding a bit last summer on a bike that didn't really fit, and have just upgraded to my first mountain bike bought for me - and am wondering whether it's better to just move into clipless straight away, or to wait until i am a bit more skilled?

i ride clipped in on my roadie, and that's all good. but i know last summer when i was starting to mb i was constantly stepping off, and probably got a bit reliant on that. it's a habit i don't want to get into - but might make learning easier.

anyway, would love to know everyone's thoughts.

thanks! oh, and hello.

foxcgirl

Likes Bikes
Clip in and you'll get rid of that habit of stepping off :D Hehehe
You gotta love to crash :p
I think I went clipless straight away, you could do it, you probably just won't feel as confident. Try it out, see how you go. Take a change of pedals out on the trails if need be.

Amber

Likes Bikes
Yep - clips are the way to go. You've got the know how already from the roadie, so the transition should be relatively easy. Just dial them off so they are "loose" to begin with. :)

shineslike

Likes Bikes
great. that's what i was thinking. it will probably make it a bit scarier to begin with, but means i won't have any bad habits to break. like stepping off all the time :p

now i just need to spend lots of time on the bike so that it all becomes second nature.

pi11wizard

Likes Dirt
Shines like is Mrs Pi11wizard.

I just wanted to say that she had a spectacular crash on the weekend which involved an enormous endo into a shallow rocky creek. She was clipped in at the time hence her question.

She took it really well and I just wanted to give her a public thumbsup for being more hardcore than I am!

hey girls,