"Dirt Jumps" Proposal HELP!!!

tomysu

Likes Bikes
Hi everyone. Well my first thread...haha. anyway,

I am wanting to build a set of "Dirt Jumps" in my backyard but seen I am new to this I am wanting your help!

My idea is to have around 7 jumps ranging from 3-6ft high. I will be digging pits and half the up ramp will be underground and also the downramp. Berms will also be half underground. The only problem I can come across is that the proposed area has a slight downwards slope. A wall ride is an idea I came up with which would be pretty cool but thats only once I build the DJ's.

I have a 4 and a half tonne excavator which is available for me to use which will help me out and get the job done a lot quicker. I will be building on my own land, private property.

So I am putting it out to you all to see if you can help me out or give me some advice. If you dont understand I can post up some more information...but for now give me a comment or two!
Cheers!

P.S Oh and by the way check out the sketch and pictures of the location to give you an idea!

Attachments

Last edited:

Dirt n Street

Likes Dirt
well if it is only a small slope then it wont bother the jump building too much but you would probably want to dig some drainiage ditches to divert runoff water away.

Last edited:

Dirt n Street

Likes Dirt
are you planning on just digging ditches for the water to travel in? or you could go all fany and use pvc pipe and stuff. and i just thought you might want to have drainiage on the higher side of each jump because when the water runs down the hill it might erode (sp?) the bottom of the jumps.

THISISTC

Likes Dirt
What you can use instead of PVC pipe is argy(sp?) pipe which is alot cheaper than PVC. OR you can buy 5.4m lengths of pvc and cut it to size yourself

3viltoast3r

Likes Bikes and Dirt