DJ Stack height

The_Taurean

Likes Bikes
I recently bought a Norco 250 with the intention of getting into dirt jumping but I have no background in this sort of riding so I'm struggling to work out bike fit.

I'm 6 ft and I've got a medium (largest size) frame. When I got the bike I was expecting the bars to have a fair bit of rise but they're actually quite flat.

When I'm riding it feels like I'm quite bent over, and when the pedals are level my hands are about the same height as my knees. Is this normal for a dirt jumper or do I need a higher rise bar?

pink poodle

気が狂っている男
The wide flat bar trend is everywhere...my recommendation is to go with what is comfortable fo you. I've never really followed conventions, I just set up how i like it. If you're comfortable you'll probably ride more and riding more is good for skill development.

If you're feeling cramped up and hunched down (well that is kind of how dj bikes roll) higher and possibly wider bars may help with this. The idea of the DJ bike is for it to be low and compact for manoeuvrability.

wesdadude

ウェスド アドゥーデ
I've seen many a DJ rolling around with stupid high (4"+) rise. Put some high bars on and see if it feels good.

Flow-Rider

Burner
I think they are meant that way, I bought a med. GT Ruckus from a bloke that was over 6 foot and I'm 5.4. I still look like a hunchback on it. I made it worse by changing the Marz over to a short steerer by 20mm to have dual air dirt jumpers as I couldn't stand the coil spring no longer. It's a dedicated dirt jumper and pump track bike because it's terrible as a trail bike.

Djprac1 (2)_Moment2.jpg

Peter650

Likes Dirt
Dirt jump bikes have gone to shit (these days). I think they are made for 12 year olds. You would be better of, on a 26inch bmx bike (if you like big wheels).

stinky1138

Likes Dirt