Frame sizing

Yeti Dan

Likes Dirt
Hello DJ fanatics,

I recently grabbed a second hand DJ, but I'm starting to wonder how we address frame sizing. I am brand new to this and being only 5'3, I got a P3 in L since that was the only size they came in. Can you shorten stems etc. I just want to learn the basic jumps and manuals and won't be hucking off massive lips or skate parks or anything like that anytime soon.

Is it way too big. How is it meant to feel? I've ruined both my shins in the two rides I've taken it out for so going to stay off it and wear some shin pads next time. Worst feeling. Should really invest in better pedals and shoes.

Cheers,

Dan

Kramer

FoBR
I'm 6'1 and ride a large stp with a shorter 30mm stem - on small jumps and skate park it feels a bit big, but on the bigger jumps is fine. If you want to shorten things up, then get a super short stem and roll your bars back a bit (or get bars with more sweep).

Definitely recommend sticky shoes to save your shins and nuts. Get some Five Tens!

Yeti Dan

Likes Dirt
Thanks Kramer. I'll have to look into it.

I don't even know if it's for me. I've been put off way too much after ripping my shins apart on the weekend Much prefer clip ins!

Noticed you are from the Berra. Is there any good places to learn basic dirt jumps besides Gunghalin?

skinnybeans

Likes Dirt
I just recently got a 24" bmx to start playing around on. I'm 6"4' and it has a 22.3" top tube and 8.5" that feels pretty good to me.

Then I had a quick spin on my brothers and feels a bit more compact, having a 22" tt. I would say either feels better or worse, just different. Learn to ride what you have unless it's way way too big.