Frame swap compatibility, Kona - Ironhorse

Brendan.

Likes Bikes
Hey all, Sorry but I am new to DH/FR MTB and have just bought a 04 Kona stinky complete with a few upgraded parts, However im not a big fan of the frame itself. I have, however seen a ironhorse sunday that i rather like and within budget. just want to know if i am able to take the parts from the kona and fit them to the ironhorse easily.
Here are some details that i know about each bike;

04' Kona Stinky
upgraded parts
Marzocchie 888 Forks
Transition Revolution 32 Wheelset
Avid Juicy 5 Disk Brakes front and back

06' Ironhorse sunday world cup w/ dhx 3
has reducer cups

Basically want to fit everything from the kona except shock to the sunday. ie; Forks, stem, BB/Cranks, wheels (axel diameter) ect. , rear disc mounts. anything else.

I have searched and as far as i have figured everything will fit, although i'm not very familiar with 1 1/2 - 1 1/8 head tube compatibility but thought it would fit. Just wanted to ask to see if anybody can assist and point out anything that might cause me trouble before getting a new frame.
Thanks.

miko

Likes Bikes and Dirt
At a guess, the Iron Horse will have a 30.0 seat post, and the Stinky will have a 30.9. I'd also guess that the BB is probably 83mm on the Sunday, and it is probably 68 or 73mm on the Stinky. Also, the Sunday has a 150x12 through axle and the Stinky probably has 135x10. So there's a few things you'll have to change. Everything else should swap over though.

Brendan.

Likes Bikes
Thanks. I already plan on getting new seat post and seat. If i can just change the BB and keep existing cranks and spindle, and an axel for the rear wheel that's ok. Minor parts like BB, axel (assuming i can change the axel in the hub?) and seat post im ok with replacing, it's the more expensive $100+ parts like hubs, forks and cranks that i dont wanna have to spend money on.

Last edited:

mullan2304

Likes Bikes and Dirt