Food/Diet help for the skinny kids - putting on size and protein suppliment suggestions

shirtz

Likes Bikes and Dirt
hi guys, need some advice.

Always been the skinny kid but am pretty fine with it. did tough mudder, city to surf and cardio most days. Went and gave blood the other day and had great iron levels and blood pressure but when she weighed me i was a bit surprised how light i was. chucked in my 75kg and 190cm height into a BMI calc and i was in the "normal" range but according to it, could add another 10kg and still be normal!

i know BMI isnt everything, but also felt pretty weak when it came to the tough mudder so was thinking a bit of size and strength would be good. im a newb so have no idea where to start. read a few things and am considering taking a few protein shakes a day and doing something like the 5x5 stronglifts program. what do you think? any protein recomendations? is a better beginners program out there?

im sure there a ton of fit but skinny guys here that would know something or like to know!

dain2772

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I am keen to see the responses on this, I have a similar shape and looking to put on weight.

My plan at the moment is similar to the 5x5 - ie big lifts involving a lot of muscle groups in each exercise, not isolation exercise and increasing food intake.

One mistake I have made previously is increasing bad foods, I am now trying to increase veggies and a bit more protein to avoid just putting on fat, which I have done.

driftking

Wheel size expert
Dont go chucking protein.
Most new guys think oh ill down some protein some creatine hit the gym and ill be good.

70-80% of the work is done outside of the gym.
The effort is rest and food.

If you are looking to put on size you want to use 80% 1RM and life 8-12 reps with 60-90sec rest periods. The rest periods between sets actually has a effect on the level of test and growth hormone that is released.