Info needed on where to base myself to ride DH/FR trails!!

teknological

Likes Bikes
Hi,

I've just spent last year travelling and riding around NZ! I've decided a year of travelling and riding around Aus sounds better than going home to same old life in UK!

I'm arriving in sydney in Nov, planning to stay there for 1st 3months then travel around! I'm a DHer riding a '02 Stinky Primo, Monster T's, so pretty heavy bike, but have 22/32/BG, so can ride trails rather than just DH!

I'm interested in finding out where would be good to base myself. I'm also looking for a bike shop job, ideally mechanic! I worked in a shop in UK for 7 months playing with bikes!

Where would you recommend to base myself so I could get good riding? I've checked out Bike Addicition finding out about Oxford falls and Red Hill, but these are just names to me at the mo, where abouts are these located!

I'm also a hardcore clubber, so thought Sydney would satisfy my needs for starters!

All information would be much appreciated! I'm keen on hooking up with fellow riders and keen on doing loads of DH racing this year!!

Thanks, Leo :D

Squidly Didly

Has Been
Staff member
G'Day Leo

http://www.bikeaddiction.com.au/trails/trails.htm will give you the maps of Red Hill and Oxford Falls, and they are situated on the Northern Beaches (Beacon Hill area).

If you want more Dhill head out Richmond way to experience Old Bathurst Rd. Some nice runs out there, but shuttle runs are recommended.

If not, the Lizard Rock trail at Oxford Falls is gaurenteed to please. There's been a few write-ups already on it in some previous threads. Hope this helps

shmity

Likes Bikes and Dirt