Intervals - The secret

dusty_nz

Likes Dirt
NOTE: You need to know your Heart rate zones. E1 (Endurance), E2 (Tempo), E3 (Threshold) to utilise intervals
NOTE2: I am not a professional cyclist. I am physically and financial enthusiast who enjoys flagellation to achieve outcomes. Xmas 2012 I knew nothing about intervals and had a very narrow view of training. I have since engaged a coach and learnt the following.
NOTE3: Intervals sux massively. It is about the suffering. If at 2 mins of a 8 minute interval you feel like giving up as success is impossible then you have it right. 50% of intervals is learning to sustain suffering.

Thought I will enlighten everyone to the secret training called intervals.

I am sure everyone has heard of Intervals but not many people know how to properly implement or use intervals and why.

Initially intervals were used as a way of increasing the overall power output for a period. eg

Due to your lactate threshold you may only be able to sustain an average power of 150watts over an hour.

If you instead did 30 minutes at 100 watts and 30 minutes worth of intervals at 250 your total power output is at 175.

While the above is just to give you an idea in reality intervals allow you to massively increase your training power output.

You total output is based on three key factors. Heart capacity (Heart Rate), Lung Capacity (VO2) and Leg capacity (Lactate Threshold). To develop any one of these you need to stress it beyond 110% of its current capacity for a sustained period.

Normal training rides are a simple case of going hard. In essence you are riding in Tempo which is not really over stressing your body. Your three body components are all running below their maximum for an extended period. Great for endurance but not with making you go faster.

Intervals are designed to to target a specific component of riding or your body and extensively stressing an individual piece.

For example.