MASSIVE THANK YOU Crash at Mt Buller 16th Feb *UPDATED with crash footage*

k3n!f

leaking out the other end
Hi All,

I just wanted to say a massive thank you to the guys who walked me out of the Copperhead trail at Mt Buller on the weekend. I have been riding for 15 years and never had a serious accident until now.

I managed to knock myself out and have an hour that I can't really remember, although I know one dude was riding a Pole because I distinctly remember it being long as fark. Turns out I did a good job. I fractured two thoracic vertebra, with T6 being an unstable burst fracture. I also broke a clavicle and some ribs on the left. Everyone at the hospital was pretty surprised when they heard I had walked out! They looked at the CT in Wangaratta and flew me down to Melbourne to the trauma centre.

Anyway, I have no abnormal neurology, require no surgery and got discharged home last night. Every day since then, I have woken up and thanked the Flying Spaghetti Monster that I can move my legs and my brain wasn't injured.

I really appreciate the help I got, and the culture in the mountain biking community.

Ken

PS I did have my GoPro running, but I haven't had the stomach to load the footage yet! I'll post it if it was a hectic stack!

John U

MTB Precision
Fuck! Glad you’re ok.

Sounds like you should’ve been carried out on a spinal board. Posting the stack might help others.

Oddjob

Merry fucking Xmas to you assholes
Good luck with the recovery. Pole riders are the best people.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

scblack

Leucocholic
Good luck on the recovery. Take it easy.

I have also injured my back, the L1-L4 transverse process. From that experience, I assure you, loading the crash footage for us to see will help in the recovery process!

beeb

Dr. Beebenson, PhD HA, ST, Offset (hons)
Wow k3n!f! Absolutely insane you could walk out with that list of damage. All the best for the recovery!

creaky

XMAS Plumper