Manitou Sherman fork issues

EZZA 84

Likes Bikes
Hi guys, was hoping somebody could help me identify these forks for me. They were given to me by a friend and he said he thought they might be Marzocchi DJ3's.
The only number stamped on the for upper is 200231797
I'll be putting them on my old Giant STP2 to replace the tired and leaking MArzocchi EXR forks on there now.
Cheers, Eric

Last edited:

EZZA 84

Likes Bikes
Great thanks for pointing me in the right direction. He was given the forks as extras for a bike he bought so he has no idea what they came off. Was wondering what the blue knob at the bottom does, assuming rebound adjustment or something...
Sorry I'm a novice when it comes to mountain bike, my main hobby is endure dirtbikes

frenchman

Eats cheese. Sells crack.
Looks like a manitou Sherman. Blue knob is rebound. Top left is compression and the right side is the travel adjust.

EZZA 84

Likes Bikes
Great thanks guys, managed to find the manuals online for the shermans which look to be the same. Just gotta figure out exact model for oil level/volumes etc.

pink poodle

気が狂っている男
Looks like a manitou Sherman. Blue knob is rebound. Top left is compression and the right side is the travel adjust.
I was thinking perhaps something from the "black (or minute) era". What sort of size are those stanchions? How much travel?

fatboyonabike

Captain oblivious
Manitou Sherman Flick
looks to be missing the black dial on the LLeg
the flick is a travel adjust model from 160 to 130 from memory

EZZA 84

Likes Bikes
Yeah i think you’re on the money. Measured stanchions at 32dia. Not sure how to measure travel. Stanchion length is about 145mm. Only left lwg has oil in it, right side is coil spring only. Yes missing compression adjuster cap

Ultra Lord

Hurts. Requires Money. And is nerdy.
Just incase you don’t know, the arch on these is backwards to normal forks.
The left/right confusion could come down to this.

safreek