Newbie saying Hi and asking for recommendations

black4tress

Likes Dirt
Hey guys,

Newbie here and first post.
Well, Hello all.

What can I say about myself. 30 something. Although I like to think I'm still in my early 20s. Been riding Road bikes for a couple of years now, still loving it but have ventured into mountain biking with a couple workmates - crazy workmates who just fly down these hills. You gotta have balls of steal to do this stuff, well, I'm working on that one. Anyhow, hello to all you men and women out there with balls of steal !!!

Can I get some recommendations on a hard tail around the $1000. I currently have a Giant boulder which how can I put it .......... heavy, old, not enough gears. This was adequate for the odd 30km rides on the road to work but lately couple of mates have asked me to venture off road. Been to the Oaks couple of times, did the dirtworks 50 and sucked at it big time. Of course I am blaming my bike.
Anyhow, not sure where I am going with this mtb stuff, I'm a roadie and haven't fully warmed to mtb yet but enjoying the rides otherwise, hence did not want to spend too much on . Was looking at the Giant XTC2 but cant afford it really.

What are your thoughts on the Avanti Barracuda (currently $1200) or a Felt Q720 ($1100) or the Giant Talon ($1100).

I have already looked at the Talon and it looks a beaut but it seems quite heavy. Spec wise is also on the lower end. Barra and Felt I have only searched online and with the Barra, they have a special at the moment $1200 down from $1500.

Anyhow, any input would be appreciated.

Thanks
Tone

Last edited:

Ivan

Eats Squid
Hello Tone and welcome!

Have you considered a secondhand hardtail? It is definatley a buyers market with some good bargains popping up quite regularly.

black4tress

Likes Dirt
Gday Ivan,

Yes, have considered 2nd hand. Have an eye on some XTCs but open to new ones cause you never know what these 2nd hand ones have been through.

Thanks

shmity