Not Puffing

mimps

Likes Dirt
Hi All

Ive just got a question, i find that when i ride to work i average about 24kmph over about 30 minutes but during that time im rarely breathing hard but my legs are burning. and i do not consider myself fit.

Am i doing something wrong? not sure of my cadence but i try to keep highish.

Cheers Mitch

moorey

call me Mia
Hi All

Ive just got a question, i find that when i ride to work i average about 24kmph over about 30 minutes but during that time im rarely breathing hard but my legs are burning. and i do not consider myself fit.

Am i doing something wrong? not sure of my cadence but i try to keep highish.

Cheers Mitch
If you're note particularly fit, I'd guess its just lactic acid build up. I've been commuting similar times each way for the last 12 months. Started off averaging 22khp on MTB and was fucked afterwards, now averaging up to 28-29kph, still on heavy mtb, and feeling fresh at the end. How long you been doing this for?

Mywifesirrational

I however am very normal. Trust me.
Really interesting question and the answer is related to this statement:

I'm rarely breathing hard but my legs are burning. and i do not consider myself fit.
Mitochondria live in mostly in slow twitch muscle fibres and create energy by using oxygen. When you do a sustained aerobic activity such as cycling, you typically relying on slow twitch fibres which as great for endurance because they can create a decent amount of sustained energy. As they absorb oxygen from the blood stream, the co2 level rises in the blood stream, this is detected through receptors and this is the driver for you to breath harder.

The nature of fast twich fibres, means they are stronger and can provide more energy faster, but can not provide a sustained energy source (they deplete or cause lactic acid).