Santa Cruz Blur 4x. Yes/No?

pin'd_it

Likes Dirt
Hey Guys.
Im pretty new to the whole XC/Enduro/Trail aspect of riding, but i've been riding DH for about two years.

Im planning on getting a new 4-5.5" trail bike soon, and have a pretty good offer for a Santa Cruz Blur 4x. The basic spec is:
- Blur 4x frame. 115mm travel
- Rock Shox Lyriks Coil. 115-160mm u-turn.
- RP23
- X9 shifters/X7 deralliers
- Single Track rims on Shimano (of some sort) hubs.

So my real question is, do you experienced guys out there think that this would be suitable for the applications intended?. I would plan to ride things like the Oaks, Andersons, Manly Dam, hopefully get down to Majura pines and Stromlo on the odd occasion.

The spec isn't so much of a worry for me, mostly the frame and its geometry.
Its a bit of a slacker and burlier bike, with a 68.5 head angle and the ability to take up to use a fork anywhere from 100-160mm travel. While this suits my style a bit better, as i generally ride pretty hard and with minimal style but lots of plow. I would most probably run this fork at approx 130mm travel making the head angle in the 67.5-68 degree range. Would the bike still be able to climb well enough with such geometry?

Nerf Herder

Wheel size expert
are you expecting to be competing with others that will be on dedicated XC rigs ... and expect to be teaching them lessons ?? if yes, then no.

are you super fit and could push a mack truck with just your left big toe ... if yes then yes.

are you more downhiller then xc'er ... if yes then yes

There are better options ... uhmmm like the Blur XC, or LT, but it depends on how good is good when you say "pretty good offer"

I'd happily ride the 4x thru those tracks you listed and I know people that do :) ... good luck

pin'd_it

Likes Dirt
Thanks Nerf.

Sorry, I should have mentioned at this stage im entirely non-competitive and riding just for fun. So no lycra bandits are in my sights...yet.