Social Mountain Biking Clubs in or around Sydney

markusm

Likes Bikes
Hi Everyone,

I have wasted many a work hour searching the net looking for a social style MTB club around Sydney. I live in the Sth Western part of Sydney and dont mind travelling to a club but there just doesn't seem to be any around.

Northern Beaches (Nobmob) seemed to have a great one going but it appears its now inactive as no one has done anything in the Sub-Forum here for ages and the website is a little old and a bit un-informative (if thats a word)!

All i seem to find is more race type clubs but i'm just looking for a group that regularly gets out to a few of the trails and as i'm new to the scene going off into a trail by myself is a bit of a worry.

I see groups getting together on this Forum every now and then but it's a bit daunting to just join in with people you don't know especially if you are a bit of a novice! I've been riding road bikes for years but never really done any off road MTBing!

thecat

NSWMTB, Central Tableland MBC
Nobmob isn't a club it's just a website where people can go and find info and hook up for rides try the calendar http://nobmob.com/rides/calendar
Similar thing is the watering hole here http://www.rotorburn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?30-The-Watering-Hole

Try either, find a ride close to you and tag along or make your own ride meeting and see who turns up. Most people are happy for newbies to tag along. It's how most of us got started.

Edit: maybe by nobmob you meant the Manly Warringah MTB Club? They lost their xc track a while ago and so are without a main home

Last edited:

Australia

Likes Bikes and Dirt
There is always Turramurra Off Road Cyclists

51 Saturday morning rides a year
50 Wednesday night Rides a Year
13 Sunday Rides a year

no races organised by the club

doesnt get much more social then that:)

markusm

Likes Bikes
Thanks for the replies so far.