Sore hand between thumb and fingers??

greasy reas

Likes Dirt
Im only new to trials on my 2nd week, im riding a mod rhino raceline trials bike, I have found that after riding for about 1 hour i struggle to pull the brakes in due to it pain between my thumb and fingers where you hold onto the bar, Is this to do with reaching to far to reach the brake lever? does this occur if you lever is to far from your hands or is this just a beginner thing(as lack of smoothness)?

I have scrooed the scew in all the way that makes the levers as close as possiable to my hand but the levers are still quite a distance away.
Would it be worth finding some smaller levers for the bike and giving it ago?
Im running V brakes

Last edited:

Grip

Yeah, yeah... blah, blah.
Yes you want the levers in as close as possible to the bars. If you're riding ANY sort of real trials stuff you need your finger/s on the brakes ALL the time... you should never have to actually reach for the lever... your fingers should just be there.

Your pain is most likely due to a combination of the bar and lever position... especially if you're new to riding mods (although the Rhino isn't a particularly "long" frame compared to UCI specific frames). Try playing around with bar position. You want it set up in a way that doesn't have you leaning so far forward onto the bars that you can feel the pressure in your palms. You're looking for a neutral position.

gbowen444

Likes Dirt
Is it just a skin/blister problem or is it a muscle soreness? Do you wear gloves? Also what finger do you use? You should have your index finger on the lever all the time and the other 3 gripping the bar.

I would suggest if you have only been riding a week you may just not be used to riding trials and it will improve but try adjusting you bar/lever position to see if it helps. If the brakes are still too far out at maximum adjustment then maybe some new levers are in order.