Training for 24hr enduro races

PepsiMax

Likes Bikes
Ive recently gotten considerably keen on mountain biking again but with a more serious note.

Ive decided to test my physical & mental strength by competing in adventure races with a with mates and also compete solo, in 12hr/24hr endurance races

I'm just wondering what would be the best type of training for endurance races?

I do know my stuff when it comes to fitness, as I am a qualified fitness trainer, but I would like the advice of some experienced enduro races.

Im kinda guessing this for a training plan
* + 250km road bike rides 2 times a week, lots of hills for the climbing strength
* min. x2 interval based training sessions per week with a min duration of 90mins
* +250km offroad riding per week 3 times a week

just wondering how this sounds to the more experienced races

and can you please share your training plans and thoughts

jmcavoy

Likes Dirt
Ive recently gotten considerably keen on mountain biking again but with a more serious note.

Ive decided to test my physical & mental strength by competing in adventure races with a with mates and also compete solo, in 12hr/24hr endurance races

I do know my stuff when it comes to fitness, as I am a qualified fitness trainer, but I would like the advice of some experienced enduro races.

* + 250km road bike rides 2 times a week, lots of hills for the climbing strength
* min. x2 interval based training sessions per week with a min duration of 90mins

Wow 500k+ a week is a lot of riding, I will kill to have that kind of free time (I'd be lucky to get 250-300k in a week) ;)
Your plan sounds solid, my only suggestion would be to ease into it, but as a qualified trainer you would already know that.

Good luck, the Easter 24 in Canberra is the best solo 24 on the calendar, a good vibe due to it being solo only, and still plenty of time to train for it...

Shrekmeister

Likes Dirt