Tyres

DarrenHunt

Likes Dirt
I was wondering if anyone could help me chose suitable tyres. I've been riding for 3 months, but i'm getting quick quickly.
I'm getting into racing, 100km and 8 hr jobs at the moment and i mainly ride around many dam.
I was looking at Crossmarks, but was wondering how suitable they would be for Manly Dam.

Any help appreciated

Some Guy

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I was looking at Crossmarks, but was wondering how suitable they would be for Manly Dam.
I'm not sure what Manly Dam is like, but I've found the Crossmarks work really nicely in anything from hardpark to dusty/semi-loose. They're nice and fast as every race tyre should be, and I couldn't believe how well they held on in the corners at the victorian state champs. The course was a very dusty and rocky loop near Bendigo. That's the other thing I like about them, they've got thicker sidewalls which reduces the chance of them getting cut on a rock. Come to think of it I haven't had a single puncture since changing from Racing Ralphs. I struggled with both sidewall cuts and pinch flats with the RRs.

I run the softer compound eXCeption tyre, which wears reasonably fast, but so do all race tyres.

Chamelion

Likes Dirt
I've heard a LarsenTT rear and Ranchero/Crossmark front is a good combination... 2.0 rear and 2.35 front?

Matt.

EDIT: I run WTB Wierwolfs front and rear in a 2.1".... They seem OK.

Last edited:

DarrenHunt

Likes Dirt
thanks for your help.

i think i'm definately going a crossmark 2.1 on the rear and am thinking about the front... either the same or a ignitor of similar width.

any thoughts?

k3n!f

leaking out the other end
I run an Ignitor 2.1 eXCeption on the front as its got a bit more "bite" than the Crossmarks. The shoulder is a bit more aggressive on the Ignitor which suits me fine as I ride in really loose conditions. They do have a bit more rolling resistance than the Crossmarks, so its a trade off between straight line speed and cornering ability.