Video rendering and YouTube wizardry

Ezkaton

Eats Squid
Ladies.

Anybody around here a video wizard? Can you perform magic?

I've been toying around with Sony Vegas for a few months now, and the last week or two, playing around with render settings to try reduce pixellation/artifacting once uploaded to YouTube. I noticed, for example, channels like GoPro always seem to have this nice, clear 1080p video.

Example:
[video=youtube;2liYwCFTgr4]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2liYwCFTgr4[/video]

I render my videos with a high bitrate and best rendering quality. The videos themselves come out looking pretty good. Not as good as the original source, due to compression, but still a lot clearer than the upload turns out... YouTube just kills it.

Is this sort of thing out of my hands? Are we at the mercy of YouTube's transcoding?

Any tips or tricks worth trying?
Been reading lots of random forums and articles, watching videos etc. on rendering tips and people asking similar questions... but I've never really been able to find a definite solution.

Most of the stuff I have discovered that looks like it might be worth a shot is up to 5 years old and doesn't turn out that good either.
I assume YouTube has changed its codecs and what not since then so it likely just doesn't apply anymore.

IT'S MAKING ME SAD, GUYS!

SAD! :drama:

EDIT: I should note I'm rendering as .mp4 - though I've been reading .h264 is better for YouTube so that will be my next test...

Last edited:

Minlak

custom titis
To make you feel better it is not your fault....

It is youtubes fault.

They have crystal clear videos as they pay to have the channel.

I have found setting the output to be 1080p HD display is about the best you can do.

Ezkaton

Eats Squid
Is Vimeo any clearer?
Apparently it is, but you're required to pay $70 a year for your account if you want to upload more than 500mb a week.