Where to MTB in winter??

gillyske

Likes Dirt
Hi guys,

Was wondering where people would go if they wanted to spend 3-5 days riding somewhere late July and were willing to drive up to 24 hours (From Melbourne). Riding would be preferably gravity based, any place that has shuttles or a lift would be a winner.

Mates and I were willing to drive to Cairns, but after looking at the travel time by car (32 hours) we were considering somewhere more accessible.
An idea was Forrest near the Otways, but it seems mostly to cater to XC riding. Bright is near the top of my go to list however being winter the trails might be unrideable, however I have no experience with that area during this time of the year.

Does anyone have any suggestions for places to visit and ride during late July early August?

Thanks.

Last edited:

Tubbsy

Packin' a small bird
Staff member
Where are you departing from?

You can ride Stromlo and Isaacs Pines all year, but you'd have to shuttle yourself and Canberra trails probably wouldn't sustain your interest for 3-5 days if you're only after gravity.

There are some steeper sections in Majura Pines as well, but I can't recall if it's possible to drive to the top.

pink poodle

気が狂っている男
I ride around here throughout the winter with little issue (the last few weeks aside). Plenty of trail variety on offer and 2 good dh courses.

Coffs is nice this time of year.

I've ridden Canberra in winter and it was great - dry, sunny, cool.

But as Tubbsy has inquired...

ozzybmx

taking a shit with my boobs out
Alice Springs ! Dont know where you are driving from but its a beautiful 20-25°C there during the day in July but gets bloody cold when the sun goes down... and I mean minus 5 when I say cold.

You could even call in at Uluru on the way back before they close the rock for good in 2019

droenn

Fat Man's XC President
Where are you departing from?