Which offset shall i buy?

Sethius

Crashed out somewhere
Going the large, based off 37mm offset 150mm 27.5 fork. Question is, do I roll with a the 44mm or 51mm offset option for the 140mm manitou mezzer or do I go 150mm with 51mm offset. Rocking a 29x2.4 ardent and 27.5x2.4WT dissector. Rear travel is 140mm. Bike to be used for all styles of shangians. Has a 35mm length stem and 760mm bar.

Attachments

Last edited:

Nambra

Definitely should have gone to specsavers
Found this to be a useful clip, along with the blog article linked in the description.

I’m by no means an expert, but I believe the gist of reduced offset forks is to maintain trail as head angles get slacker (translating to better handling at slow speed). With your fairly slack 65.3 HA you’re probably going to want the 44mm offset over the 51mm.

I’ll add the usual disclaimer that I could be full of shit too. Have you hit up the OEM for a recommendation?

Last edited:

LPG

likes thicc birds
From what I've seen from less biased/sensationalised sources the difference is fairly subtle and not really worth the big deal that's been made. I went with a reduced offset on my Bird AM9 build which has a similar ht angle. I dont know if it was important to the handling but I am definitely happy with the way my bird AM9 rides with the reduced offset. The long wheelbase and slack HT dont make it too much to manoeuvre in tight spots even with the reduced offset. Better or not I dont know but it isn't something that I would be worried about trying.

kten

understands stuff moorey doesn't
Found this to be a useful clip, along with the blog article linked in the description.

I’m by no means an expert, but I believe the gist of reduced offset forks is to maintain shorter trail as head angles get slacker (translating to better handling at slow speed). With your fairly slack 65.3 HA you’re probably going to want the 44mm offset over the 51mm.