Who's the gun 29er wheel builder in Sydney Hunter area??

Refreshinglygood

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Got my rims, got my hubs, now all I need is a gun wheel builder to build me up a strong set of wheels.

Who's been building strong wheels lately. I'm in the Newcastle area, but get down the freeway to Sydney for work regularly.

Pizzaz

Likes Dirt
Got mine built by Greg at TWE... (www.twowheelsenterprises.com.au). Have been good so far... also had a set built by Alan at City Bike Depot (Kent St) on my singlespeed which have also been great (once I swapped out the noodly Salsa delgado rims).

gtw

Likes Bikes
I had mine built at TwoWheelIndustries. I only had a single rear built as it was damaged beyond repair. I have little experience so wont claim them to be good, but my wheel has been fine. Mavic TN 719 was built for me. They were recommended by some Tri/Road guys.

Last edited:

fezi

Likes Dirt
I've built a few sets of 29er wheels lately, they hold no greater issue than building a 26" wheel, so any competent wheelbuilder will have no drama's building your wheels for you. Whoever you get to build them make sure they are correctly tensioned, ask if they use a tension meter, if they don't walk away.

QZ13

Likes Dirt
Try B-rock at The Edge, West Gosford. No 'Tensiometer', but dude can build a strong wheel. Pity I don't go down that way anymore, could have saved you a trip.

Failing that, drink, ride, fight, fuck.

C Dunlop

Likes Dirt
Anyone really. Well, any decent wheel builder.

It is not hard to build a wheel with 32 spokes and a big alloy rim. MTB wheels are a lot easier to build than road wheels owing to the heavier rims and (generally) bigger spokes. Basically MTB wheels, especially disc wheels, have a lot of room for error. If you have a bit of time and some interest, you could almost certainly do it yourself.

Refreshinglygood

Likes Bikes and Dirt