Why one should ride as many terrains as possible (AKA Why I'm crap at XC)

silentbutdeadly

has some good things to say
Normally I'm a resident of the Lower Murray Valley in the area of Mildura in North West Victoria. Our terrain can typically only be described in one word - flat. Our club track makes best use of flat by being tight, twisty, full of trees and laced with odd artificial challenge. Riding is a pedalfest (but only in one plane). And I'm OK at it…for a middle aged fat guts with an over inflated self opinion of oneself.

This morning…I got a shock. I did a lap at Ourimbah on the NSW Central Coast. Not quite nine km and nearly fifty minutes of personal fuck me. There were hills and rocks and fast corners and many drops and more than a few pinches. The only part I felt comfortable on was The Graveyard which is a lovely twisty jaunt through the trees that litter the creek bed at the bottom of the track. The rest was a combination of daunting, exhausting, entertaining and plain terrifying. And I only managed one lap…

It left me wondering whether I was really capable of proper XC riding and certain that AM and DH are out of my league. My only saving grace is that the fork on the hard tail I'm riding is broken (busted damping control) so there wasn't much front end control, the gearing (1x10 with a 34 front ring and 11-32) is not exactly my pick for hill climbing and my ghetto tubeless set-up found its burp limits.

PLUS': I had fun; I learned heaps; I didn't crash; my pedal timing and wheel placings were generally pretty good; it is a truly outstanding track and a credit to the locals.

MINUS': Self confidence took a battering since I wasn't up for more than 1 lap; it was B lines only (no Big Dipper for me!); I walked a few times….:behindsofa:

I'd definitely do it again since the only way forward is to keep trying but it's pretty obvious that I should get out more and ride as many other places as possible…

Perhaps that's a lesson for everyone?

foxpuppet