Recent content by Pete J

1. Pete J

eBikes - what's the current perspective

I've been working as a Postie here in Finland for the past 9 months and in that time have ridden 3 or 4 different models of bikes with different motor manufacturers. The Shimano Steps motor has been the best one so far but I regularly ride a bike with a very basic Panasonic setup. Fully loaded...
  2. Pete J

2016 DMR Trailstar

I've had a few bikes myself but the Trailstar has always been the one I have enjoyed riding most. In fact, if it could fit fatter tyres and had a bit slacker head angle, I probably wouldn't even consider a new bike. The trails here in Finland are really rocky and rooty so this kind of bike makes...
  3. Pete J

2016 DMR Trailstar

I guess I am just fixated on the DMR because my old Trailstar is the only bike to have stayed in the shed for years on end. I just love the thing and think that this latest version could provide exactly what I want out of a new bike. There are plenty of other options I know but this is what...
  4. Pete J

2016 DMR Trailstar

Sorry for the gravedig but I just wanted to know how you have gotten on with your bike? I have an old Trailstar LT and am thinking of getting this newer model to build as a 27.5+ rig. There isn't much in the way of real world reviews that I can find so a firsthand point of view would be...
  5. Pete J

Straya Day

I didn't mean to say that i was proud of the weather, i just threw that in at the end because that is how i feel about our country. Yes, i am thankful for the weather, which is why i brought it up. Language barriers change quite regularly in Europe, in the space of 1000km's you will come...
  6. Pete J

Straya Day

Great post! I agree 100%. Having lived outside of Australia for 8 years now, i am becoming more homesick by the day. Climate is a huge factor in quality of life and this makes living down under better than pretty much anywhere in Europe. No matter how your attitudes towards weather go, living...