The stupid questions thread.

Dales Cannon

lightbrain about 4pm
Staff member
Random one. In the market for some new wheels (4 wheel death machine variety) and because it will be a replacement for a shared car, wife says it must be auto - not that bad seeing no one sells manuals anymore. Anyway I am now at the point where ditching CVT, in conjunction with my other long list of needs, really narrows the market.

So the question is, can someone explain t me how the flap a CVT actually does not slip?

Google seems to just bang on about the same thing and scholar articles are a bit too heavy for me at this stage. As an engineer I find it hard to compare a geared system to a belt driven system and even begin to comprehend that they can transfer the same power/torque.
I know where you can get a lightly used 911GT3RS with pdk box for a smidge over $400k. Powder blue, only one in Oz with the weissach package.

born-again-biker

Is looking for a 16" bar
Not sure. I think they have dropped in price a fair bit, but who knows what dealers are charging. There are different types of cvt too that use different oil.

My original questions stands though. How the flap can you compare a cvt to a geared system. How the heck does it not just slip under load. Some of hese cars even have tow ratings of up to 2500kg. What the hell.

Luv ya bruv. Beers on me if I run into you on the trails :p
...... How the flap can you compare a cvt to a geared system. How the heck does it not just slip under load.....
The short answer is, you can't.
They are a different system altogether.
There is different CVT designs for different applications, but for cars the main design seems to be chain drive.
Two parallel shafts, with a perpendicular looped chain rotating around the two shaft mounted 'pulleys'.
One pulley has a fixed diameter and does not slip up or down against the chain.
The other pulley is actually two opposing cones that slide on the shaft and vary the effective diameter of the 'pulley'.