All Rounder Tyres

Rid3R13

Likes Dirt
I've had a search but couldn't find much relevant.

So,

I'm looking for a set of tyres that suit the "all mountain" category, I have been running specialized Eskars for 18 months now and I'm looking for something different. Just like everything I'd want them to be relatively light and versatile. I've been doing a bit of looking around and found products like,
Schwalbe- Nobby Nic
Intense- 909
Maxxis- High Roller

If anyone has any more suggestions please feel free to comment and anyone who has any first hand experience with the ones I've stated (especially the Schwalbe) please tell me what you think. Try and throw in a price if you know it too!

Cheers lads.

Last edited:

T-Rex

Template denier
High Roller

+ 1 for single ply 2.35 High Roller. A great all rounder, I have used them for DH, XC and trail riding. 60 compound is probably what you want, 40 is a bit grippier but wears fairly quickly.

Rid3R13

Likes Dirt
+ 1 for single ply 2.35 High Roller. A great all rounder, I have used them for DH, XC and trail riding. 60 compound is probably what you want, 40 is a bit grippier but wears fairly quickly.
Mate yo got any idea how much they weigh? also whats the advantage/disadvantage of steel to foldable?

tim_d

Likes Dirt
Foldable are much easier to get on and off and also significantly lighter - well over 100g's difference in one tyre.

eyes

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Four tyres I'm frothing over at the moment are:

2.35 Maxxis High Roller UST - running it on the HT at the front - it's the soft compound and will wear quickly I know - buy holy shite it grips up! Price expensive as it's soft and UST. Trail riding and racing 4X on this for the rougher tracks. Running around 32 psi for fun and definately not for rolling efficiency.