ANy gardeners aroound here?

Warwick

Likes Dirt
I pulled 4 or 5 roses out of the garden 6 months ago. Got the roots and all.
Only, not enough it seems. There are 4 or 5 bits of new rose growth just popping out of the soil..
Will spraying them kill them, or do I just have to dig deeper and deeper and pull anything that could possibly be rose roots out? That's a big job I'd rather avoid.

Norco Maniac

Is back!
roundup, or try boiling water, then layering heaps of newspaper and mulch over the top to suffocate them.

the root stocks of commercial roses are tough buggers.

i used to garden for a living :eek:

dcrofty

Eats Squid
Well I am a terrible gardener, but I have spent a lot of years killing plants for a living.

If you don't want to use herbicides then get digging.

Breaka

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Tordon will smash anything. Apply it to the exposed ends of the plant with a brush.

nathanm

Eats Squid
any herbicide with Triclopyr as it's base "ingredient" will get the job done. Cut a stem above ground level and apply immediately. Word is you've got around 10 seconds of exposure before the weeping sap will seal it from absorbtion.

or wix it with Kerosene and spray away.

sam705

Likes Dirt
Any form of straight roundup and a splash of diesel painted on a frshly cut stem will finish them off guaranteed.

Ben-e

Captain Critter!
I do a good amount of gardening, but I like to do it the sustainable way, which generally means avoiding the use of herbicides. However, there are some plants that just piss me right off, and you just have to use some.

Even though they say glyphosate becomes neutral once it hits soil, I dont believe this, so I use high caution when using it.