Anyone dealt with super-go in the states? Importing from USA

Turley

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I am looking at getting a set of Shimano XT cranks as I know they fit and I can get them for about the same price of a set of v-drives when you calculate the cost of a splined bb instead of an octalink bb.

Has anyone dealt with them or know of anyone who has? Also, do you know if the displayed shipping cost when you click on the australia section, is in AU or US dollars?

How does the import tax work? Does customs etc send you a bill? Or do you pay supergo for it?

I would normally just got to my lbs but I can't afford to in this circumstance.

chuckrockswell

iRide Bikes
i can't say i'm an expert in the area, but i've done it a few times now (how can you go past XT r.derailuers for $38us??)

haven't had any problems, i just use supergo, all the costs are there in front of you (currency conversion and all that) shipping is in US and generally takes around a week and a half to get to you.

with shipping, its best to get a few things at a time as its generally a flat rate relative to the size of the package, so chuck some hayes pads or something in there too. shipping can be a killer if you get individual items seperately.

import tax?? i'm pretty sure that only applies to goods over like a grand or something?? i'm not too sure about that, but i've never been charged import tax and my purchases are generally around $200aus.

hope that helps :wink:

msbhvn

Likes Bikes
DONT USE THEM,

I have tried them to debit my credit card for the last 2 weeks, with them telling me the postal address on my card is not the same as the address I want to send the product to (yet they still debited my card)

It has got to the stage where I have to send them a photocopy of my drivers liscnece and credit card, to which say I am who I am.

They make it almost imposible for you to buy by card and want you to do a wire transfer which cost's you $15.