Bikes cost lots of money... how did afford yours?

Scott

bAdmin
Staff member
After reading forums and seeing pictures from races, I can see that people have some really nice expensive bikes out there. Alot of these bikes are purchased new and cost over $10k, my query is... how do these people afford them? Who here works their butt off to keep them in the sport?

alshogun

Likes Bikes
my bike didnt cost $10k but i still worked my butt off to get it, then worked my butt off again to get more stuff for it!

Scott

bAdmin
Staff member
I had actually saved up heaps of money for ages, and decided that the best way to spend it was in a nice ride (I hadn't been riding in a while, but hadn't lost the passion). It was biggest single transaction that I have made....

Ryan

Radministrator
My current bike was bought with the insurance payout off my old one, which was stolen. Now I work as a pizza cook part time to keep it running and buy shiny new things for it :)

DOM

Eats Squid
haha
my bike isnt that expensive .. it started as a $1000 GT STS2 .. slowly things broke .. things got replaced .. frames swapped for hardtail .. burleir parts put on ..

I have some money to spend on my bike but sometimes need to justify them .. like .. id love 600 forks but my mozo's do the job .. although ive fallen in love with hydro disc''s ... as soon as i pay ty for the front .. im looking into the back.

But yeah my bike is fairly cheap .. some good parts .. strong heavy shit which shouldnt brake under normal circumstances.

lindsay

Likes Dirt
Parents for my d-eight. I said i had to have it no matter what. Then when they got it they told me they'd never by me a bike again. Now i get one for free so all's good. :D

frank-oi

Likes Dirt
if only we all had it like that lindsay.

and working my boo-tay off helps to keep thing rolling at my place.

josh

Likes Bikes and Dirt
endless hours working at subway :/

then more hours Electronics Boutique! A job with dignity hooray for me :)

Tim