Break bead to refill tubeless sealant?

MdMa

Cannon Fodder
Big noob here...

If it matters, I've got Stans No Tubes ZTR ARCH EX 29er rims with Schwalbe Nobby Nic EVO Snake Skin tyres.

I've watched a number of videos now on how to refill tubeless tyres; some break the bead, whilst some just refill from the valve.

Why would I go through all the trouble of breaking the bead and then having to reseat it; is there any benefit to this?

wavike

Likes Dirt
I'm far from an expert on this, but I always break the bead so i can clean out the old sealant before adding new. Sometimes there's a ball of sealant and other times it's still liquid.

Ivan

Eats Squid
It is difficult to check how much sealant is left in the tyre, and therefore the minimum amount of sealant you need to add, without popping the bead. Also, I have had presta valve body's clog up with sealant in the past so I avoid pushing in sealant through the valve body.

I don't have any trouble popping the bead or re-seating it like some people do, so its just as easy for me to do it that way.

pharmaboy

Eats Squid
Always through the valve if it has a remove able core - get a big syringe to do it. People without the syringe have to break the bead then use a compressor

schred

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Break bead, inspect, marvel at the goobers and add if needed, don't if not. A cheap compressor from supercrap is similar in cost to an airshot.

mark22

Likes Dirt
Break bead, inspect, marvel at the goobers and add if needed, don't if not. A cheap compressor from supercrap is similar in cost to an airshot.
I'm with this you can use the compressor for other stuff around the garage too.

Nautonier

Eats Squid
If you use soapy water you don't need a compressor to re-seat the bead or install a tubeless tyre. I've got a compressor, but it's been sitting around unused for over a year while I've installed tons of tyres using just a floor pump.