Carbon HT vs Aluminium Dual? Your experience?

Turley

Likes Bikes and Dirt
After having my old 26" DS stolen, I am now on the search for a new MTB.

I'm going to progress to a 29" wheel, but I'm undecided on whether I will go for a carbon HT or aluminium DS.

My background is from DH racing, so I have found in the few enduro's I have raced that I am often "stuck" behind slower riders on the downhills, which makes me think a carbon HT may be the better option. But I also enjoy the flowing trails which my old DS was perfect for. I know the best solution is one of each, but that isn't happening.

So, what is your experience with these two types of bikes? And what do you prefer/recommend.

Thanks

Turley

jathanas

Likes Bikes and Dirt
A HT is still a HT, 29er or not. The dually will be kinder to your arse and back, but it will have a longer wheelbase so it wont turn as quickly. The dually wont climb as fast as a HT either.

I prefer HT in the 29er platform, and dually in the 26". That's just me of course, YMMV.

Cheers, J

C Dunlop

Likes Dirt
If you have a DH background I would recommend against 29in wheels.

29in duallies are friggen heavy bikes (even the carbon ones, even the blinged out ones) This will hinder you even more on the climbing.

It depends on where you do most of your riding, but I reckon a 26in wheeled 5in duallie with fairly xc-oriented angles would be a good choice for you, considering your background and your focus on enduros.

krisko

Likes Dirt
C Dunlop
If you have a DH background I would recommend against 29in wheels.

29in duallies are friggen heavy bikes (even the carbon ones, even the blinged out ones) This will hinder you even more on the climbing.

It depends on where you do most of your riding, but I reckon a 26in wheeled 5in duallie with fairly xc-oriented angles would be a good choice for you, considering your background and your focus on enduros.