Chain breaker tool, which one?

Baino

Likes Bikes
Hi all, just after people opinions on best chain breaker tool for shimano 10sp chain, I'm fairly new to all this so people help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

redbruce

Eats Squid
Hi all, just after people opinions on best chain breaker tool for shimano 10sp chain, I'm fairly new to all this so people help would be much appreciated.

Cheers
I have several and the best of the collection are the Shimano and Park Tools.

Just dont buy a cheap one and it will serve you well.

Baino

Likes Bikes
I have several and the best of the collection are the Shimano and Park Tools.

Just dont buy a cheap one and it will serve you well.
Thanks for the reply mate, iv been looking online which park tool one are you talking about also is it small enough to go in the back of camelback?

moorey

call me Mia
Everyone should have a decent quality, dedicated breaker in the workshop/toolbox, but for carrying on the trail, i've never had a problem with either of the ones on my multi tool. One is a park, other is CB. Unlike everything else CB i have used, this works a treat.

rowdyflat

chez le médecin
Grave dig.
only recently started using an 11 speed chain on one bike build because the wheels came with an 11 speed cassette and XD driver ,OMG the pins are strong.
I have to put the chain tool handle in the vice and use an extender on the winding bit.
Yes I line everything up nicely and never have had a problem with 9 speed,10 speed is harder ,11 is harder again.
What do others do ?
What is a really strong chain tool with lots of leverage , my hands are starting to get osteoarthritis so I dont want to make them worse ?

beeb

Dr. Beebenson, PhD HA, ST, Offset (hons)
Grave dig.
only recently started using an 11 speed chain on one bike build because the wheels came with an 11 speed cassette and XD driver ,OMG the pins are strong.
I have to put the chain tool handle in the vice and use an extender on the winding bit.