Cracked Carbon Rim

DrHarry

Do you feel lucky? Do you pup?
cracked rim.jpg

Do I have any chance of salvaging this or am I stuffed?

It's leaking air but maybe I could tape it up heavily? Sand it back and fibre and resin? Just throw it in the trash?

Ben-e

Captain Critter!
View attachment 405945

Do I have any chance of salvaging this or am I stuffed?

It's leaking air but maybe I could tape it up heavily? Sand it back and fibre and resin? Just throw it in the trash?
Carbon is a remarkable material in that a repair can be just as good as if it were new. However, repair effectiveness depends on the profile, rim width and a few other constraints. And you cant just slap on a few layers and hope for the best; you would have to vacuum bag it, and im guessing 'butterfly' shape carbon layers over both sides of the rim, about 15cm in length. By the time you purchase all the repair materials etc, you might just be better off buying a new rim.

Btw i'm not an expert, i would recommend getting the opinion of someone who specializes in carbon repair.

DrHarry

It's a Nextie rim. Never had issues before. Pretty sure it happened because my tire went flat (whole other story)

merc-blue

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Scrap it.
I still cant really get my head around carbon rims on MTBs. Just such a common area for damage and really hard to repair.

Rusty_68

say no to ooogamaflap
Got to be fixable. By whom and how is the question.
If you're in VIC, this is the ONLY guy I use for any customer carbon repairs. Sent numerous frames and wheels to him and they always come back better than new. I'm actually off down to see him tomorrow to take that AURUM frame I posted up a while ago.

beeb

Dr. Beebenson, PhD HA, ST, Offset (hons)
Ive had 3 sets.
Admittedly they were all OE (bontrager/roval) but a flat shouldnt cost a rim.