Digital SLR Advice- Nikon D90. Now Looking for Lens Advice

NCR600

Likes Dirt
I'm looking at buying my first Digital SLR after finding the limits of my point 'n' shoot too many times and being too tight to pay for actual film for my ancient SLR's.

Due to certain constraints (which I won't go into here) I'm stuck purchasing from a shop which only carries Nikon and Canon, and I haven't really done any research at all on the equivalent Canon, in no small part due to the stupid advertising campaign Canon have at the moment. So Canon are out (unless someone can convince me otherwise).

I'm a rank beginner at digital SLR's so differences in menu navigation etc. don't fuss me, as far as I'm concerned it'll be a steep learning curve and pretty much all of the manufacturer's systems will piss me off equally.

Can someone give me some reasons why, or why wouldn't I buy a Nikon D90?

Thanks 'burners!

Last edited:

donny70

Likes Dirt
Nikon cameras are still compatible with all their old lenses. That's a plus right there.

I've got a canon 5dMkII and really it's the lens that makes the difference it costs the same as the d90. Where I'm going with this is the cheaper canon lens are fairly shit in both build and image quality and you really have to pay to get a good lens whereas the lower level nikon lens are much better for the price.

Plus like I said before old nikon lens are cheap and available. A 50mm 1.4 is worth it's weight in gold.

I love my canon, I paid a lot for it though...

casnell

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Love Nikons, i can use lenses I bought 20 years ago with real glass. I think really Nikon v Canon is marketing, one gets ahead then the other, but they're both good.

Go to dslrusers.net and have a search for pros/cons and tips.

AngoXC

Wheel size expert
I think you'll love it ;)