Dual ring chainguides

Craven Moorehead

Likes Bikes
I'm after some advice on chainguides for a dual ring set up.I've got a Craftworks FRX I've only had for a little while that I'm constantly dropping the chain on.It's set up with a XX drivetrain with 28/42 chainrings and doesn't have ISCG mounts.The only one I can seem to find which is BB mount and able to fit a 42 chainring is a MRP one.I've never used a chainguide before and was wondering if there were other options and do they work as advertised?

NUMBER5

Likes Dirt
Oh crap... Just had a look at a pic of ur bike... Disregard my previous post :) I'm just gonna go eat a bag of ~~~~~~ !! :):)

Craven Moorehead

Likes Bikes
Don't be so hard on yourself old mate,you're right though that would have been a nice cheap fix.I just had a look at type 2 derailleurs and a X9 is half the price of a MRP chainguide so that's definitely an option.

NUMBER5

Likes Dirt
Too many beers n not enough sleep,,, or is it, not enough beers n too much sleep..... Hang on! I got 2 young kids, so that would be NO beers n NO sleep... Hehe

Sounds like a plan, in case you don't already know, just be aware that if you go down that path and aren't on ten speed, you'll need a cassette too :):)

redbruce

Eats Squid
I'm after some advice on chainguides for a dual ring set up.I've got a Craftworks FRX I've only had for a little while that I'm constantly dropping the chain on.It's set up with a XX drivetrain with 28/42 chainrings and doesn't have ISCG mounts.The only one I can seem to find which is BB mount and able to fit a 42 chainring is a MRP one.I've never used a chainguide before and was wondering if there were other options and do they work as advertised?
I have found a Black Spire Stinger to be pretty effective.

Otherwise as T Rex suggested, a clutch derailleur.

mitchy_

Llama calmer