Fort William Wrap up

Stinky

Likes Dirt
Well back in crappy London now after a week of great (relativley) weather and top class racing. By now you all know the results and what happend to who. so here is a few little bits and peices I picked up over the time.

The organisors. Those guys have thier shit together, for a full time staff of only three people Rare management have put on one of the smoothest events that have ever been involved with in any industry, and as an event manager I have seen a few. The local volunteer crew have obviously committed alot of time to making sure that things run smoothly.

The volunteering. My girlfriend and I volunteers as track marshalls. all accomodation and meals were provided as well as receiving merchandising and some travel money. If you get the chance this is a great way to see this sort of event as you end up in the best locations to see the racing and are not fighting through the crowd to see what is happening.

The injurys. As we all know some big names were injured during racing and training, Good luck to Jared. I spoke with Mick Hannah on Sunday and he says that he should be fine for France this weekend.

The nice guys. My girlfriend had the job of marshalling the riders for 4x transport (because she dosn't want to watch the crashes). Alot were getting shitty because it was a slow turnaround time and blaming her. Mike King was more than happy to put them in there place.

Fabian Barrell, has to get the prize for unlucky nice guy, on the Thursday he had four flats in five runs and then another flat in the final after qualifying about fourth. Most times when he came past during practice he would stop for a chat and invited me to hang out in the Kona tent for a while. I had a putter round the pits on his race bike, very nice, especially those new 888 forks.

The gossip, Damien Grundy tells me that they are shooting to have the Worlds in Fort Will in 2006 or 2007. they have my vote.