Fox CTD rear shock set up on 140mm bike

andrew9

Likes Dirt
Hi all!

My bike is a Univega RAM with 140mm rear travel, 160mm fork.
Most of my riding is on moderate Downhill trails that have lots of little doubles, rock gardens and berms. I’m 80kg with gear. I’m fairly new to suspension, only got my first non-rigid mountain bike three months ago.

I took my first ride on a new 2014 model Fox CTD BV, it replaced a Fox Vanilla R coil, which has a 650 spring. The Vanilla spring was too hard, but generally rode pretty nice, just a bit too high in the rear.

I had a bit of trouble with the new CTD, never got the shock to where I was happy.
Started at 160psi, about 20% sag which rode way too soft. Then went up to 180psi, felt smooth and plush on the rocky and undulating trails, but used up all the travel on even small 1-2 metre doubles, with very smooth transitions.
Bumped it up to 200psi, it was rubbish, lot of "kicks in the back" over bumps and steps in the trail, and still used up all the travel on some of the jumps, which are pretty tame.

I was descending in "Trail" mode, and switching the Trail compression dampening between 2 and 3 (medium and firm), I didn't try “Descend” mode for long, as it seemed softer than trail, as I understand it should bottom even easier, as the compression dampening would then be open?
How easy should it be to bottom a rear shock? 190psi was as firm as I it could go without it starting to "kick" and it'd still use all the travel on even a 30cm drop to flat, that seems too soft to me? I had the rebound pretty slow, so that shouldn't have been the cause of the kicking?

There is a 1.5m drop on that trail that I usually go off, but with how shock was performing, I was worried of bottoming out too hard and so I went around it today.

Any set up tips? or anyone want to share their ideal pressure on their 140mm bike that has a 200x57 shock?
Any tips or hints?

creaky

XMAS Plumper