Freeride Rig For 2 or so Grand?

bassmonkey

Likes Dirt
Hi folks, first time poster, long time... umm actually this is the first time I've checked this site out, but it looks pretty sweet. Good work to those involved.

Anyway, I'm pretty new to MTB and after recently cracking my frame I reckon the time has come for me to upgrade from my first bike to something a bit more confidence inspiring. I'm looking at getting a moderate freeridable dually that can still manage the occasional pedal up a hill if needs be (freeriding is the priority though), or maybe a hardtail for around the mid to high $2000's absolute tops--so don't go telling me how rad the Bullit is or anything like that.

I'd been seriously considering the Jamis XLT 1.0 and Norco Torrent but I just found out that both of those are no longer available in Oz, and I've also been looking at the Haro X3 and the Stinky.

Does anyone know any good deals going at the moment on any of these or have any other sort of advice?

Cheers!

bassmonkey

Likes Dirt
I forgot to mention, I'd prefer to get something new and under warranty rather than a potentially thrashed out machine, but I would definitely be stoked to find a bargain 2nd hand IF it's in Adelaide and I can check it out. If I can track down something new for a bargain price interstate that'd be cool though.

CHEWY

Eats Squid
dont buy a brand new dually for 2000 or under... ur bound to get crap, go a hardtail if u want something new for that much

ELX

Likes Bikes and Dirt
What are the specs on your Stinky Chewy i might be interested. Also what is the frame size and what condiditon is it in. Thanks dude

Turley

Likes Bikes and Dirt
From what you described I reckno you should be looking at a Kona roast or Stuff. They are strong hts but still suprisingly light! check them out at your lbs. Just if you get one, make sure you upgrade to a set of psylos or DJ3's etc. The Marz EXR ain't realy good from what I have been told.

wombat

Lives in a hole
Two things: