G-out Forces?

Bonnet

Likes Dirt
hey,
i was just reading Acadians review of his new 05 Boxxer WC. In his article he mentioned 'g-out forces' http://www.pinkbike.com/modules/news/?op=articleview&id=2298

The new bushing length greatly improves fork ction on "slap landing" impacts, as well as heavy braking and "g-out" forces seen on today's brutal race courses.
i understand the whole concept of G forces and inertia, momentum and all that jazz. (i am a semi-qualified Private Pilot). i was just curious to the 'g-out' forces experienced on a race course, and where they may occur and so on. this is a new term to me, and im sure quite a few people may not fully grasp this term and its applications. so tech heads and physicist, blabble away if you will.

cheers- ASH

Rik

logged out
To me... G-out = hard bottom from a harsh change in the trail, such as a 70 degree slope followed by a 15 degree uphill... now that will bottom out your forks ;)

bazza

look at me
whats that? all i heard was blah blah blah g spot. i mean um. g forces. i dont see hwo you can feel them on a dh track. thats so random. RANDOM.......

MrPlow

TMBC
I think the pointhe is trying to make is the larger bushing surface area will distribute any side load on the forks over a larger area, therefore stiction will be reduced. Suprised S hasn't been here punching out some random coeffiecient equations for us :p

Rexy

Likes Bikes and Dirt
so in g forces, is this meaning g's as a f1 driver would expirience, or g's as in rik said?
oh and rik, it does bottom out your forks hard, i hit the crown on my psylos on a hit like that!

DJ_Robbie

Likes Bikes and Dirt