help? tight wrist!

wilddemon

Likes Dirt
Hey burners. I put this in somewhere else but had not love, so I'm reposting here to try and get your help.
I've been riding for about 6 months and noticed that my right wrist gets a bit tight / sore after a ride. Doesn't matter if it is mtb, road or spin. Could it be one or more of those bikes is not set up correctly for me, and then riding at all exacerbates the problem? Or maybe I need to develop my forearms for the rigours of riding (I usually do a few laps of Appin every weekend)? I didn't originally think riding would require much effort of the upper body but I have rethought that. I plan on trying some new spongy grips as suggested in another forum. I have looked at my setup and I'm pretty comfortable. Maybe I need to try to keep my elbows bent? I haven't really noticed that I lock them up, and I still have a bit of stiffness on the spin bike. Any advise greatly appreciated :)

strika

Likes Bikes
It sounds like it could be a little tendonitis or even a little arm pump. Try relaxing your grip a little. As a guide, the end shouldn't turn purple. :biggrin:

Ridenparadise

Likes Bikes and Dirt
If this is happening on 3 different setups inc spinning, then grip tension, brake and shifter position/reach and possibly even grip thickness is not likely to be to blame. Can you get a pic to see if you are symmetrical to explain why it is just the right side?

If you are positioned well with relaxed arms, elbows out a bit (speaking MTB here rather than road), then think back in case there has been an old injury that may have left a bit of instability in the mid-wrist joints - a sprain that didn't settle fast. Wrist instability can lead to arthritis in the long term.